Life update
November 12, 2008, 10:21 am
Filed under: Church, Family, Life, Youth Ministry | Tags:

People may be asking “What is Dustin been up too?”  Here is the run down of what I have been doing…

1.  Started my master’s in ministeral leadership last week.  It is going to be a fun 2 years.  It is all online.  The class I am in right now is called “Non-Profit Management”.  It is very interesting stuff.  I am learning right now how to implement change in a church, how to give options, and how your church prayer life should be.  Did I mention I am really excited about this.  I don’t care much for the degree.  That isn’t why I am doing it.  I want to learn.  I am a student of God for life!

2.  Working with the district youth to make this year rock.  Camp is going to be so much fun!  The theme is LiveLoud.  I think it will be one of the greatest camps.  I am really looking forward to it.

3.  I have been enjoying youth ministry.  (Not all pastors can say that!)  I love my teens.  They are really cool to work with.  (Side note:  I threw a stole last week during my message and broke it. Sorry Matt.)  We are in a series now called Wild Goose Chase.  It is going to be a great 6 week series.  We are talking about following after the Holy Spirits and going after your God ordain passions (I threw the stole when I was talking about God ordain passions.)

4.  Learning how to be a parent.  It isn’t easy.  It is some times fun.  It isn’t fun when they tell you that they hate you and that you are mean because you have to punish them for not behaving.  I love her to much not to punish.  I call it tough love.  We do love each other and I would not trade this.  I love being with my two girls!

5.  Doing another book review.  This time it is more of a reference book.  The Greatest Words Ever Spoken.  It is a really good reference book.  I am enjoying using it.

6.  Going to CRAVE conference at SWU this weekend.

Welp that is just a quick update.  I will post something worth reading soon.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Cool to hear what’s going on with you. You and Hannah will be getting something soon in the mail, but I wanted to let you know that the next Church Planter’s Assessment Center is April 15th-18th at Table Rock and we definitely want you guys there. Just wanted to let you know so you can be thinking about it.

Comment by Matt Rampey

Matt,

Thanks. We will definitely give this some thought.

Comment by dustinwilson




Leave a Reply

