Wild Goose Chase – Book Review
August 19, 2008, 11:13 am
Filed under: Book Reviews | Tags: , ,

I am so glad that I was able to be apart of this blog book tour.  Mark Batterson did a great job with this book.  I haven’t read his first book “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day” but I am definitely going to pick me up a copy and read it.  Wild Goose Chase was a book that I needed to read.  I think a lot of people need to read it!  

I remember several years ago when I was a counselor at NC East wesleyan youth camp, my students decided they would go down to the barn and try to catch the pig.  I was young at the time so I said go for it! (I wouldn’t do that now. 😉 ) Anyways they couldn’t grab the pig.  He was a big one and was muddy and they just couldn’t get him.  I haven’t ever chased a wild goose but I think it would be a lot harder than chasing a pig.

So what does a Wild Goose got to do with anything?  Celtic Christians called the Holy Spirit “An Geadh-Glas” – Translation the Wild Goose.  

I know in my life trying to figure out what God wants with my life has been like what Mark describe as a wild goose chase.  I am glad that I serve a God who is bigger than me.  I am glad it is hard to figure out exactly what he wants.  It makes me need him!  I love the adventure.  Some people (even Christians) needs to get up and start their wild goose chase.  When they do they will see some amazing things.  

If you want to be challenged by a book that pulls from the Bible a lot then read this.  If you don’t want to be challenged by an adventure then don’t read this.  Warning:  The Wild Goose Chase is dangerous!

God wants us to be uncaged!  He wants us to be dangerous!

Mark talks about 6 cages throughout this book.

1.  Cage of responsiblity

2.  Cage of routine

3.  Cage of assumptions

4.  Cage of guilt

5.  Cage of failure

6.  Cage of fear

Many of us are in one of these cages.  Read this book to find out more and find out what to do to get out of those cages.

Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“We want to solve the mystery of the will of God the way we solve a Sudoku or crossword puzzle.”

“Jesus didn’t die on the cross to keep us safe.  Jesus died to make us dangerous.”

“When we lack the guts to step out in faith, we rob God of the glory that rightfully belongs to Him.”

“We start dying when we have nothing worth living for.  And we don’t really start living until we find something worth dying for.  Ironically, discovering something worth dying for is what makes life worth living.”

“One of the great mistakes we make is asking God to do for us what God wants us to do for Him.”

I don’t want to give the whole content away in this book review.  Check it out!  Visit Mark Batterson‘s blog and check him out.  He always has something good to say.  Visit www.chasethegoose.com  and check out the book.

You can buy the book on Amazon or you can get a free on by winning the contest.

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day” is a good challenging book. Definitely read it! God bless!

Comment by Wyatt Hoogakmp




Leave a Reply

