Environment is important
July 30, 2008, 9:45 am
Filed under: Church, Youth Ministry | Tags: , ,

I have been in youth ministry for a long time.  I remember when I was in school and my youth group meet in a room with white walls and the size of maybe a bed room.  It was one of the worst learning environments I have ever been in.

Then I remember when I started going to another youth group in 11th grade and we meet in the basement of the church.  The ceiling was out and the walls were painting blue.  There were several really cool designs on the wall.  I remember the first time I went and I was blown away.  I learnt so much in that environment.

I did an internship with Kris Leroy one summer.  I love the youth room at Rushwood Park.  It is in the old sanctuary but it doesn’t look like an old sanctuary.  He had blue and black cloth hanging from the walls.  He had other things on the wall that gave it a cool effect.  He had a setting area with a snack shop.  I use to go in there during the summer just to read and study because I loved it so much.  

If an environment is comfortable and appealing to the eye then better learning can take place.  If a youth room is colorful but not to bright and the mood is right it can create a great worship environment.  I am going for that in the youth room that we meet in now.  I want the youth to come in and learn about God and also feel comfortable worshipping God whatever why they want.  Before the youth room was white walls with a bunch of out dated posters.  I wanted to change that and make it more youthful.  So far the youth love what is going on with the new design.  I can’t wait until we get in there and can worship together.  I would love to show you pictures but I want you to see the complete project.  Stay tuned and you will see.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dustin-I love reading your blogs. Can’t wait to see the pics. Keep up the good work.

Comment by Richard Hall

Can’t wait to see some pics.

Comment by Hank

Can’t wait to come down to see the room finished.
We look forward to it. I know you have worked hard on it. It is such a blessing to have you as a son and see how much you enjoy working with the youth and with all the work you do.

Comment by mom

Your exactly right. Don’t stop until you get it the way you see in your mind even if others don’t understand why you are doing it. can’t wait to see the finished product.

Comment by Phillip

I have to admit, the room looks awesome. I wonder who built it? It is pretty sweet.

Comment by Kevin Quarles

Lol. Kevin you did a great job leading the project. Very nice eagle scout project. Probably one of the best in this area.

Don’t forget to thank everyone who did the labor for it though. Your dad did a lot.

Comment by dustinwilson




Leave a Reply

