Life Update
July 8, 2008, 11:00 am
Filed under: Events, Family, Fostering, Leading Worship, Life, Youth Ministry | Tags: , ,

Life has been really busy here lately.

The 2nd week in June I spent up at Table Rock Camp.  I love that place!  We put in a sand volley ball court.  It turned out really nice.  We also set up for the youth camps.  We had to set up for recreation and also set up the stage for the worship rallies.  I really think the stage turned out great and really created a great environment for experiencing God.  I couldn’t have done the stage design without the help of my great friends James Henderson, Brady, and several others.  

June 16 – 20 was middle school camp.  It was amazing.  Normally middle school is like the test drive for camp and high school is the best but this year I believe that changed.  We planned ahead and wanted to do our best to make both camps the best and give it all we had.  Christian Chapman did a great job of bringing the word of God and giving the students some things to make decisions about.  The students responses were so great.  Several gave their hearts to Christ.  Some laid down some things they have been holding onto that God wanted them to let go.  The students had a great time through out the camp doing things like going to the water park, sports, swimming in the lake, hanging with friends, making new friends, the gong show, etc.  We all had a great time.  I went up to several of the students and asked this question “What is the best thing you like about camp?”  I was thinking that most would say the games but most of their responses were “The rallies!”  That made me feel really good.  The kids come to the camp expecting God to move!  What would happen if people in church would have that mind set?

June 23 – 27 was High School camp.  Man it was awesome.  God showed up like crazy.  Both of the camps were the same.  God moved and the students lives were changed.  Derik Idol spoke and did a great job.  He talked about several things that have to do with FREE!  (Free was the theme of the camp.  Yes we stuck to the theme!)  Students were able to pray with their youth leader or youth pastor about the scars in their lives.  They were able to surrender the things they have been hanging on too.  My favorite part of this camp was Friday night where we baptized several students who accepted Christ that week.  It was an awesome way of ending camp.  These camps were the best camps I have ever been too and I have been to several.  God isn’t done with the SC district.  

After high school camp, Hannah and I headed down to St. Simons, GA, for a week long vacation with my family.  It was great.  I loved the place.  We had a pool at the house and I spent a lot of time there.  (I am not that big of a fan of the beach anymore.  One word SHARKS!)  

We are now back in town.  We are getting read for our lead test that is being done to our house.  This is the last thing to be done before we are approved to be foster parents!  We are so excited. Please pray that our house tests negative.  

I am also getting ready for Family camp.  It is going to be good.  Hannah and I are going to be in the worship band there.  I am also leading worship for the youth part.  I am working on a highlight video of camp to show at the camp.

That is it for now.  Hope everything is going well for everyone in the blog world. (I know a lot of people are getting sick around me.  Hannah is sick in bed now. Please pray for her.)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

So good to hear about what God is doing with young people at this camp! Hallelujah.
I pray the Family Camp is just as great.

Comment by iwillsearch




Leave a Reply

