Jesus – Lonely?
February 21, 2008, 10:08 am
Filed under: Devotional, Life, Thoughts on God | Tags: , , ,

This is something that I have never really thought of before.  Jesus being lonely?  It was the night of Jesus being arrested and taking off to be crucified.  He prayed in the garden and told his 3 favorite disciples (yep, Jesus had favorites) to pray and watch for him but they fell asleep.  Can you imagine what was going through his mind?  Maybe he was like this. Here I am fixing to die for the sins of the world and I can’t count on my closest friends to watch my back.  Then Judas comes into the scene and gives Jesus a kiss on the cheek.  (If it was me I would be mad that the dude kissed me but it was different back then.)  Judas showed the men that were there to arrest Jesus, which one he was.  Yep, he turned Jesus in for some money.  Jesus was betrayed by Judas.  Judas was one of his disciples.  One of his friends.  Jesus was probably heart broken.  He felt all alone.  Then they arrested him and then the disciples scattered leaving Jesus alone. If we look at Peter’s story we can see that he betrays Jesus three times by claiming not to know Jesus.  It is crazy to think about how lonely Jesus felt during this time.  In our lives, we have probably went through times when we felt all alone.  Jesus can relate.  Not only can he relate though but he can be there for us in those times.  Here are some times when we may feel all alone.  “your father left” – The Lord said “I will never leave you or forsake you”  Hebrews 13:5.  “your friend cheated” – “Jesus says peace I leave with you, my peace I give you” John 14:27.  “your brother/sister lied” – God is the God of compassion and the God of all comfort and he is here to comfort us 2 Corinthians 1:3-4. “a divorce that divided your parents” – In our weakness, the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express Romans 8:26.  I know for me in my life I have felt times of aloneness but God was there to comfort me.  Maybe you are lonely right now.  I encourage you to turn to Christ (who can relate with you) for comfort.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

WOW!!! I READ THIS TO MY LITTLE SISTER WE BOTH CAN RELATE TO THIS…HER DAD DIED A YEAR AGO WHEN SHE WAS 10…MY CALLING IS TO BE A YOUTH PASTOR BUT MY DAD DOES NOT SUPPORT ME ON THAT SO I AM ALONE….MY SISTER CAME TO ME ABOUT 2 MO. AGO AND WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT JESUS AND GOD…I KNOW GOD USED ME THAT NIGHT TO TALK TO HER BECAUSE I WOULDNT BE ABLE TO TELL YOU WHAT I TOLD HER…BUT I KNOW SHE HAS PUT HER TRUST IN HIM SINCE….I WANTED TO SHARE THAT WITH YOU….THIS HELPED ALOT THANKS!!!

Comment by BRITTNEY

Brittney,

Stay encouraged. If God has called you to be a youth pastor pursue it. I know it can be hard because you feel all alone. Remember Christ is right there with you and he will guide you through it.

That is good news about your sister. Keep reaching out!

Comment by dustinwilson




Leave a Reply

